MEAC Coach and Player's of the Year

Coach of the Year
Oliver "Buddy" Pough - South Carolina State University

One of the premier coaches in the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference, South Carolina State head coach Oliver “Buddy” Pough continues to keep the Bulldogs among the MEAC and Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) elite. He recently completed his eighth season as head coach at his alma mater. A veteran coach who has enjoyed success at every level, Pough directed the 2009 Bulldogs to a second consecutive MEAC title and back-to-back appearances in the prestigious FCS playoffs. SC State finished the season 10-2 overall and was undefeated at 8-0 in the MEAC for a second straight campaign. Pough was named MEAC Coach of the Year for the second time in as many years and also garnered Palmetto State Coach of the Year honors as chosen by The (Columbia, SC) State newspaper. He has also been recognized the last two seasons as MEAC Coach of the Year by the Washington Pigskin Club, and in 2009, he was honored by the Extra Point Club of Atlanta.

Offensive Player of the Year
Curtis Pulley- Florida A&M University

This multi-talented Kentucky native turned in a stellar two-year offensive performance in the Orange and Green, quickly establishing himself as a dual threat on the ground and through the air in 2008, then taking both aspects of his game to another level in 2009. Capable of going the distance on the ground on any play, Pulley finished his career among FAMU’s all-time single game, single season and career rushing leaders, ranking #12 in career rushing with 1,766 yards, with 13 TDs. He also made great strides in the passing game from 2008 to 2009, now ranking among the school and league leaders in career passing, standing #8 in career passing with 3,206 yards and 29 TDs, accomplishing those feats in just two seasons. During the 2009 season, Pulley was named MEAC Offensive Player of the Week five (5) times, after a courageous one-man performance, in which he turned in three of the highest single-game. rushing performances in school history.

Defensive Player of the Year
George Howard - Morgan State University

Morgan State University’s George Howard picked up an additional post-season honor when he was named as the MEAC’s Defensive Player of the Year by the 100% Wrong Club. Howard, a senior linebacker from Chesapeake (Va.), was a second-team selection and one of just three players from the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference named to the prestigious squad. The former Deep Creek H.S. product became the second Bear to earn the prestigious honor. “It’s truly a great honor to be included on one of the most elite groups in the country,” Howard said. “I would like to thank God, the support of my family, Coach Hill and the entire football staff at MSU, past and present, who afforded me this opportunity." “This is such a tremendous honor for George and we’re very proud of him and the hard work that he has put in since coming to Morgan State,” MSU head coach Donald Hill-Eley said. “The young man worked hard ever since joining our program and I’m very happy for him. It’s a great honor for the program as well to get national recognition.”

2008 Award Winners

2007 Award Winners

2006 Award Winners

2005 Award Winners

2004 Award Winners

2003 Award Winners

Back to Awards page