CIAA Coach and Player's of the Year

Coach of the Year
Kenny Phillips - Fayetteville State University

Head Coach Kenny Phillips capped off his 10th season at Fayetteville State with the school’s third CIAA Championship. In his decade at FSU, Phillips has become the Broncos’ all-time win leader and the first coach to win three CIAA Championships.

In 2009 Phillips, the CIAA’s Coach of the Year, guided FSU to its third NCAA Division II playoff appearance. FSU has a 16-6 record and a .727 winning percentage since 2007. The only two-year winning percentage better is a .785 percentage (11-3-1) from 1975-76. The Broncos’ 16 wins since 2007 are the second most in two seasons in school history. FSU has won seven or more games five times since 2002. Phillips took over at FSU in 2000 and lost his first game to Benedict College 19-20 but won his second, 32-26, against conference foe Elizabeth City State. Fayetteville State finished his inaugural season 3-7. In his time at FSU, Phillips has amassed a 63-43 record.

Offensive Player of the Year
CJ Westler- Chowan University

In just two seasons playing with the Chowan University football program, CJ Westler managed to bust everyone offensive passing record in four-year school history (1993). He is the most decorated student-athlete in recent Chowan University Athletics history. Westler transferred to Chowan in the Fall of 2008 and proceeded to lead the CIAA in passing yards and touchdowns. In his junior season he was named to the CIAA All Conference, Second Team. He earned CIAA Player of the Week two times in that season and in the Spring of 2009 earned a spot on the prestigious CIAA All-Commissioner’s Team, a honor that only 20 student-athletes receive each year. The award is based on academic and athletic successes at each individual CIAA Institution. He led the league in passing and touchdowns with 2,856 yards passing and 25 touchdowns.

Defensive Player of the Year
Quintez Smith - Shaw University

Quintez Smith started his season strong, and never let up. In his first game with the Bears, against Elizabeth City State University, he set an NCAA Division II record with 194 yards in interception returns and tied the mark for interceptions returned for touchdowns with three. As teams learned to throw away from him, Smith’s numbers decreased slightly, but he still finished the season tying the D-II season record for interceptions returned for touchdowns with four. He was tied for first in D-II with nine interceptions, and accumulated 302 interception return yards. He also had two fumbles returned for touchdowns, and had 49 tackles on the season.

As a result, the post-season accolades kept coming in. He was named First Team All-America (Division II) by two different organizations: the American Football Coaches Association and Daktronics, Inc. Smith received the highest number of votes among cornerbacks in the Daktronics poll.

2008 Award Winners

2007 Award Winners

2006 Award Winners

2005 Award Winners

2004 Award Winners

2003 Award Winners

Back to Awards page